Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 18, 2002, 4:33 AM   #1

Default Digital vs. SLR

Hi all, I'm an ametuer photographer and was seriously thinking of buying the Canon Eos D60. I use the EOS Elan 7. Due to the cost of buying film and developing them gets pretty costly compared to scanning my own digital photos. Please tell me what you think. Back when I bought my SLR, I didn't know that much about Digital cameras. Now I'm hearing good things about the D60. Should I go Digital ? Thanks, Erik
ERIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 18, 2002, 3:15 PM   #2

Hi Eric,
The only thing you will loose by going digital is the large cost of developing, printing and keeping a shoebox full of photos which you just can't throw away because you "paid" to have them printed.

The D60 will, in nearly every case, outperform your 35mm film camera. The only place that I've found 35mm color film superior is when photographing a subject that is amenable to moire. Tweed or herringbone pattern fabric, certain upholstery, etc.

Otherwise you will not only save tons of money if you shoot a lot, you will be able to "afford" to do the experimental things which will make you a better photographer.

Once you've tried digital, you will never go back to film. This is, of course, for APS or 35mm platform. Large format is still primarily the domain of film.

Lin
Lin Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2002, 3:50 PM   #3

Default Thanks

Thanks for your reply Lin. I bought 3 rolls of film yesterday and paid $25.00. Gzz. I think now I will go Digital. Thanks, Erik

[Edited on 8-18-2002 by ERIK]
ERIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2002, 8:52 AM   #4

I have recently moved from Film to Digital. I can see No costs savings at all! I have a nikon F80 and have purchase a Fuji S2pro. The S2 based on the F80 so features & metering are the same. The F80 cost $400 and the S2 cost $2400.