Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 15, 2004, 12:36 AM   #1

Default Zoom lenses for digicams

I'm new to digital photography (so new, in fact, that I don't yet have a digital camera.)

I'd like to eliminate the issue of interchangeable lenses that have been a plague to me in 35mm photography. I see that there are several digicams that have zoom lenses with very high optical ratios.

Is it a practical matter to buy a camera with a lens that can have the same coverage one would have using a 28-300mm lens on a 35mm camera? What are some of the cameras that offer this range?

Thanks,
Norm Strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 15, 2004, 2:53 AM   #2

Default Re: Zoom lenses for digicams

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norm Strong
Is it a practical matter to buy a camera with a lens that can have the same coverage one would have using a 28-300mm lens on a 35mm camera? What are some of the cameras that offer this range?
Unfortunately, the answer is no. This is because wide angle lenses are more difficult to design than telephoto lenses are. Those very zoom ratio lenses start with 35mm. For example, Nikon 5700/8700 has 35-280 and Panasonic FZ10 has 35-420. For these lenses, you have to buy a 0.8X wide converter to go down to 28mm. Those large ratio lenses that start with 28mm have a shorter telephoto end. For example, Canon Pro 1, Minolta A1/A2 and Sony F828 have 28-200. To reach 300mm, you will need a 1.5X teleconverter. In general, these 0.8X wide converters and 1.5X tele converters (except for Nikon's TC-E15ED) are all large and heavy. Therefore, 28-300 is possible with a converter. Whether you like it, this is the current situation.

CK
http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/DigiCam
Nikon Coolpix 950/990/995/2500/4500/5700 User Guide
shene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2004, 4:22 AM   #3

Well, it is possible, but very expensive.