Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 23, 2004, 10:49 PM   #1

Default The age-old, "Help me make up my mind." challenge.

Okay... I posted a few Qs about cameras on the imaging resource forums a few days ago, but no one seems interested in helping out (either that, or they're overwhealmed with a small army of newbies asking questions), so... I'll try here

I'm not a completely newbie with cameras, and I've read almost everything there is to know about them (seems like 40,000 articles by now) but, I'm in a complete deadlock about which way to go next. I'm looking for the best all-rounder camera available. I think.

Generally speaking, I understand what it is that makes a good digital camera, but I'm working with a fairly limited budget. I started at $230US, but I've decided to save for a better camera, around the $550US mark. That's camera, batteries, and memory (128megs is all I'm after) included. A case would be nice too, but... I'll carry it around in a shopping bag if I have to

So, why I'm in a deadlock is because, I'd love to go for a really capable camera, but the idea of carrying it around bothers me. But then, the cameras that are nice and portable, are fairly limited in terms of picture quality, etc. So my current camera choices facing off against each other are (and why I like the look of them)...

Minolta Dimage XT
This thing is small, looks fairly sturdy and has a great compact 3x optical zoom. The picture quality is fairly good- I could live with it. Comes with lith-ion batteries, which I'm a big fan of. Like all small things, costly.

Pentax Optio S4
Small again, but looks a little on the fragile size of things. The picture quality hasn't exactly blown me away. Still, not a bad contender, since it also has the lith-ion batteries included and also a 128meg SD card, saving me money. Well, it would if it didn't cost so much to start with

Pentax Optio 33LF