Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 16, 2014, 8:38 AM   #1

Default Foum atmosphere/attitude

I joined Steves Forum about 10 years ago.
Being a complete noob to the whole area of photography I had a lot of basic questions and posted a lot of rubbish photos.

But the forum seemed to be bursting with tons of people all willing to advise and critique in a constructive way, super helpful.

The last year I have found the number of people who frequent the forum has decreased dramatically, with perhaps a handful of members spending their time in each forum, and a fair bit of back scratching going on, i.e. "il say your post is awesome if you say mine is awesome".

Perhaps its just my attitude that has changed as I have gotten older, but I just don't find the forum as helpful or diverse as it used to be at all.

Anyone agree/disagree?
schmintan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 16, 2014, 9:05 AM   #2

I'd say that's a pretty fair statement. However, it's not just Steve's... it's forums across the board. There are a LOT of "guests" that pop in, look around, lurk for a while, and depart. Many registered members feel they "aren't qualified or experienced enough" to say anything beyond "That's nice". And, with today's culture of walking on eggshells in order "not to offend anyone" and political correctness, it's taken away the fun (not to mention free speech!) and fairly completes the stifling process. That doesn't leave much left other than, "That's nice".
My Gallery

--
Hebrews 13:3
gjtoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2014, 9:18 AM   #3

I think a lot of people have moved on to the social networking sites for the things they used to do on forums such as this. Gary's comments are right on target, too. Most of the questions regarding general photography have been hashed and rehashed enough times that when a discussion warms up, I don't feel it's worth the bother.

brian