Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 20, 2004, 1:16 AM   #1

Default Rebel 2000 vs Digital

I have a Rebel 2000 which I have been using for about 4 years. I have wanted to make the switch to digital but am unsatisfied with skin tones in any digital camera prints I have seen come straight from a digital camera or computer or online printing service without manipulating the picture with software.

I have been into my local camera store asking to see pictures with their best digital cameras including one "Canon days" event which had some of their top of the line cameras. I continue to look at prints of friends digitals as well. Skin tones consistently look grayish or ashen or, at best, pinkish.

When comparing my Rebel 2000 pics side by side with those from digital cameras it looks almost as though the 2000 has a "built-in" warm filter. Digital pics commonly look great on various computers sceens I have viewed, but in print consistently look as described above. I dont want to have to manipulate every pic before printing. I have not had the opportunity to try a warm filter on a digital.

Any input? Does anyone agree with this assessment?
khieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 20, 2004, 8:51 AM   #2

The color you will get in your prints with a digicam depends on four things:
1) the camera settings
2) the light you are shooting in
3) the manipulations you make with your photo editor
4) the printer settings

With a chemical camera there are also four things:
1) the kind of film you are using
2) the light you are shooting in
3) how it is developed
4) how it is printed

Much the same issues- just swapping the camera options with the digital camera for choice of film in the chemical camera. But there is more than 50 years experience with chemical processing.