Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 27, 2002, 3:49 AM   #1

Default 16 X 9 aspect on digicams

I am new to digital photography. Most of the better digicams seem to be based around 4 X 3 aspect chips. This is OK for current TV's but print processing is nearer to 16 X 9 format and 35 mm aspect. UK and Europe are moving to 16 X 9, all new plasma panels are widescreen. So I am wondering how users who like taking landscape pics find their cameras? Masking and cropping seems an awful waste of pixels, camera storage and time. So any comments on working with current aspect ratio welcome. Are there equivalent 35mm (wide) format still cameras available?
voxmagna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 27, 2002, 9:48 AM   #2

The DSLRs are setup on the 6x4 aspect I think. I can't think of any non DSLRs that have anything but 4x3.
whittonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2002, 11:15 AM   #3

I'm not aware of any typical print format that matches the cinema/HDTV 16:9 ratio. Typical print formats are 4:5 11:14 which are even more square than the 4:3 digicam format with the oddball 5x7 print getting a little closer to 35mm's aspect ratio but nowhere near 16:9. 4x6 prints which match 35mm exactly are geared toward snapshot 35mm and APS users who just want simple and fast prints from the drugstore. I sometimes do special high aspect prints but I usually have to crop just like I did with film cameras.

Still cameras aren't designed for TV display anyway. Even HDTV is far lower resolution than all but the lowest resolution ost digicams so I'm not sure why you're worried about wasted pixels. If you want TV display get a DV camcorder as many can be set to record a 16:9 format.