Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 22, 2004, 4:59 PM   #1

Default Depth of Field Question

I'm kinda new to digital photography. I've been reading up on depth of field and about how different aperatures affect it.

My question is, how does focus come into play. Like If I'm shooting a landscape, I know I want a small aperture (high number) to have maximum depth of view to make it all sharp. But, what about focus. I've just been playing with my cameras manual focus ( cannon a60) and I['m really confused as to how it works. What if I set the focus to infinity, but I made a really large apreture? Or vice versa.

Sorry this is so confusing, but I'm really confused myself.
Thanks
abs9986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 22, 2004, 5:04 PM   #2

Focus does not effect how large the DOF is. It only effects where the DOF is placed in the scene/viewable area.

I'm not sure if that answers your question, or if you are looking for more info.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2004, 5:47 PM   #3

When you focus on something with a small aperture, everything between it and 2/3 the distance to it is in focus. Also everything from it to 2/3 the distance behind it is in focus. So if you focus on infinity you're wasting the 2/3 behind it because it's infinity. Instead, try focusing on something 1/3 closer to you that way you get the additional depth of field up front. Oh dear, I didn't explain that very well. Lemme make a chart.
A----------B----------C----------D----------E----------F---------G

So if you stand at A and focus on D, everything from C to F will be in your depth of field.
Now pretend G is infinity. If I focus on G, everything from E to infinity will be in focus. That additional depth behind G is wasted because there is nothing behind infinity. It's already in focus.