Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 18, 2004, 11:35 PM   #1

Default How would you have saved this shot?

I'm a fairly amateur photographer. I know what an aperture is, shutter speed, understand DOF. But, 95% of the time I'm still just pointing and shooting and just enjoying the practice of picture taking. I'm going to pick the collective brain on this board and see if I can siphon some of the photography knowledge you guys have. I basically want to show you guys a picture, and critique it and give me pointers on what I could have done differently to make it better. Whether it be the composition, camera settings, hardware (filters, tripods, different camera, etc), post processing, whatever it would have taken to get a better shot. Anyhoo, here is the first shot I want you guys to critique. It was resized and I added some jpeg compression to save bandwidth.

F/4
1/200 sec.
ISO-50

In order to get the composition I wanted you can see I got a bad reflection and all the colors on the turtle's shell washed out. I didn't get as much saturation as I would have hoped in the bright yellow of the turtle's skin. I was at full 12x telephoto zoom on my little Panasonic FZ-1. So, what would you have done differently to make this a better shot?
JinE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 18, 2004, 11:40 PM   #2

IMHO and hindsight, if you would have underexposed the shot originally, then you could have brought up the exposure as necessary while processing and saved the washed out areas.

Believe it or not, I have read some threads on here where the photographer knew he was going to blow the highlights and purposely underexposed to do the above.

Good luck and keep pointing and shooting.

p.s. the post is not square with the edge of the photo
PKchopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2004, 12:30 AM   #3