Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 21, 2004, 6:26 PM   #1

Default Can I count new camera as a business expense?

I ended up getting an extension on my taxes because I was told last week I could write off film expenses last year as business expenses (I'm a freelance reporter/photographer, and pay a Self-Employed tax). By that rationale, would I be able to write off my Minolta Z1 and accessories as a business expense? I would estimate 90% or more of the pics I take are for possible publication. TIA
murphyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 21, 2004, 7:04 PM   #2

I'm not a tax expert, but I should think you would be better off if you have made some sort of a sale of a picture and have generated income or have evidence that you are about to generate income.

If the pictures are to generate income, and indeed do so, then certainly you can write off your legitimate expenses in producing that income. That would include equipment, film, travel, etc. However, if producing income is only a dream and it's really a hobby in practice, you could be subject to having it reversed in an audit and have to pay interest and penalties.

Technically, if you only use the gear for 90% business purposes, then you should only wirte off 90% of the cost. However, that's a little harder for the Feds to sort out.

Taking a deduction that they disagree with is not criminal. Failing to report income is.

Again, I emphasize, I'm not a tax guy, just a guy who pays more taxes than I want to.

Deane
Deane Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2004, 7:15 PM   #3