Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 24, 2004, 8:07 PM   #1

Default Why dont Consumer Cameras have RAW options (at least KODAKs)

I Was just reading in another post about someone fretting over a RAW capability in their digital camera.... Although my opinion is that it is not necessary unless you are really in need of it... I was just wondering if anyone knows the answer to this question ffrom a Technical point of view... WHY no raw setting? Also does anyone know if the conversion ot JPEG is done in the camera by the firmware or the hardware of the Camera.

Also would it be possible to "Modify" the Kodak Firmware to Allow for a RAW file format? Why hasn't this been done already?
KaptinKABOOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 24, 2004, 9:46 PM   #2

Well,
after reading the answers to my post I decided I personally do not need RAW format support. I am just an newbie buying his 1st digicam to setup a web album and to do small prints.
From reading the whole thread it is clear to me that RAW is not a "consumer" feature: it takes a lot of space and is slow, and more importantly it goes against Kodakīs goal of delivering their "Kodak color" in their consumer cameras through image processing. RAW implies no processing, the opposite. So even if they could implement the feature with a firmware upgrade, I donīt see it happening.
jnrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2004, 11:30 AM   #3

yeah I am just curious if it is limited at all by hardware or it resides purely in the firmware of the camera....I figure its in the firmware but I am at al loss for the exact way it works.
Old Apr 25, 2004, 1:20 PM   #4

Kodak doesn't even give you jpeg options, never mind RAW. They should at least give the user a HQ jpeg setting instead of just aggressive compression. Most mfgrs give you 3 levels of jpeg, the higher end cameras add RAW and Tiff.
sjm817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2004, 1:23 PM   #5