Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 20, 2004, 8:35 AM   #1

hi all,

first i wanna thank Steve for this magnificant site. i've been visiting here for more than 3 years and now i registered coz i wanted to hear about your opinions about my new camera needs.

now i have an old but cool olympus d490z and i know it's time to go for an update. weirdly i want the new one record videos too 'efficiently' with a reasonable zoom function like x6 or more.

as far as i saw, Canon S1 IS and Minolta Z2 were ok about those but the videos they produce consume a lot of space. what i want is to be able to record at least an hour (uncut) video especiallythe concerts igo to. i prefer avi over mpg or mov and i want to have an 640x480 or 320x240 option. i know 640x480 30fps will consume a lot but i want that as an option too.

i could buy acam(dvd)corderas well if u can advice some but this time they have a very lame still pic capabilities. i wanna be able to take good pictures when i spend that much of money on it. i feel hopeless inbetween. i can spend upto $650 for this.

Steve please help me! what would u suggest me to do? and of course everyone else, i would appreciate any kinds of suggestions.

thanks

h.

h-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 20, 2004, 12:02 PM   #2

The best video I have seen on a digicam is the Fuji S5000 and the S7000.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2004, 11:33 AM   #3

Videos DO consume a lot of space...you have to think of it in terms of video taking 30 (or 25) pictures a second...then you realize how much space video needs.

Unfortunately there are compromises going both ways...digicams take great photos but mediocre video that takes up a lot of space (even the Oly C-770 with its MPEG-4), and camcorders take great video but very low resolution photos.