Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 1, 2004, 5:14 PM   #1

I'm new to digital cameras... visited a church last weekend that had some light but wasn't sufficient for the camera... flash range didn't reach so I ended up with dark pictures.

What would be the best method for getting more properly exposed pictures in this kind of setting? (indoor, medium light, large facility) No tripod, btw.

Thanks for any feedback.
nbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 1, 2004, 7:13 PM   #2
Administrator

What is bright to the human eye, is not to the camera's lens. What you are referring to as "medium lighting" is probablyVERY low lighting.

Based on your previous posts, I see that you have a new 6MP Casio EX-P600, and have already discovered that you'll get motion blur without a flash.

A typical indoor environment has an EV value of around 6. So, at ISO 100 and F2.8 (the maximum aperture of the lens in your camera); a shutter speed of around 1/8 second would be needed for proper exposure. This is way too slow to prevent motion blur for most users (even at maximum wide angle). So, flash is needed.

You can increase ISO speed to help compensate (but this increases noise). This is the "grain" you see (multi-colored dots in image).For exampe: you could use ISO 200 to get a shutter speed of 1/16 second in these conditions (still too slow to prevent blur from camera shake for many users at wide angle).

So, ISO 400 is probably needed without flash (and it would likely have very unacceptable noise levels).

With your 6MP 1/1.8" CCD,the size of the photosites for each pixel is very small. As a result, more amplification of the signal is needed to get the same equivalent ISO sensivitity (compared to a less dense CCD, with larger photosites for each pixel). Amplification of the signal from the sensor increases noise.