Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 4, 2004, 10:53 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
aladyforty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,964
Default

I know this is not photo related but can anyone tell me how to change the colors on the toolbar of internet explorer in windows xp. New computer and it is a horrible purple color, I have changed the windows colors to windows classic but it did not change the tool bar. Help Im going blind with this color:-)
aladyforty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 5, 2004, 9:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Greetings,

In Internet Explorer choose from menubar at top:

View > Browser Color > pick-a-color

Hope this helps.

Richard S.
scaramouche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2004, 4:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Posts: 4,036
Default


There are some color choices under Tools>Internet Options>General>Color but I don't think it affects the toolbar. You might experiment with them. Not sure how the toolbar color got off unless there are skins that are being applied. There are hundreds of IE skins you can download free – just do a Google search. I'm not into skins so I don't know how to get rid of them, but if it is a skin loaded by the manufacturer this might help:
http://www.a1vbcode.com/app.asp?ID=1440

Quote:
In Internet Explorer choose from menubar at top:

View > Browser Color > pick-a-color



You must have IE power toys or something. I have current IE6 and see no "Browser Color" under "View".


slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2004, 9:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 40
Default

OOPS!! Sorry about that. Reference was to IE5, I forgot what platform I was on.

Checking the Help Index in IE6 doesn't bring up any references to color other than for text display. Very strange.

Richard S.
scaramouche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2004, 11:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ImKayd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,785
Default

I don't know if this will work but here goes. Under view - tool bars - customize - try hitting reset and see if it makes a difference. Good Luck.

Suzan
ImKayd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2004, 12:12 AM   #6
BB
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 39
Default

Go get the Mozilla Firefox browser instead. It is unquestionably a better browser then IE and is completely free.

http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/

- Loads pages faster
- Built-in pop-up ad blocker
- Tabbed browsing
- Better security
- Less crashes/lock-ups
- Integrated Google search bar

On every computer I where I have installed it and introduced it to the owner, they decided they liked it better too.

Few on this forum would choose the first digital camera they saw at the store. So why do the same with your browser, especially if you're on-line a lot.
BB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2004, 12:21 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
aladyforty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,964
Default

Thanks guys, have tried all the above but no luck, about to try mozilla now.
aladyforty is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:21 AM.