Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 5, 2004, 7:32 PM   #1
CVR

Hi all

I have been using a digital compact camera by FujiFilm for the past 2 years, i am now looking to purchase an enthusiast digital camera. I have done huge amounts of research into the cameras. Basically it boils down to whether i want to buy a digital camera with a fixed lens or a digital slr. I have no lens's, but buying one will accomadate my budget if i was to buy the Nikon D70. I have looked at hundreds of cameras, but have narrowed it down to, the Nikon D70 which is SLR, and the others are with fixed lens's, these include Sony DSC-F828, Nikon Coolpix 8700 and the Cannon Pro 1. I am really confused as to which one to buy. The things i am looking for in the camera are allot of features to accomadate for an enthusiast(not pro), VERY GOOD QUALITY photos (6-8MP), macro photography, landscape photography. Most of my photographs are of lanscapes, taken outdoors. The main factor for my next camera is the quality of photo's. Please could anyone help me or give as much advice as possible. As to the better camera, more factors to consider, or any other camera suggestions.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH !!!!

:??
CVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 5, 2004, 7:53 PM   #2

Hi CVR, I am currently using the PRO1 and am quite satisfied. The picture quality is excellent. You decision is extremely tough, as there is not a perfect camera on the market. They all have thier strengths and weakneses. Since you have already done alot of research I would suggest going to a camera shop and handling all of your possibilities to see if one stands out and has that perfect feel. Good luck!
mikesd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2004, 4:28 AM   #3
CVR

I have handled a few of the cameras but still cant make a decision, thanks for the reply mike.
Old Jun 6, 2004, 10:56 AM   #4