Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 1, 2004, 12:47 PM   #1

I am really interested in the Kyocera M410R but it hasn't got the manual exposure and focus. As I am a beginner I don't really understand this but I wouldn't like to regret my buy in a few month so thats why I would like an answer from someone more advanced. Will I miss these manual controls and why and when?

Thank you very much for your help!

Ed
ed33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 1, 2004, 3:07 PM   #2

Hi Ed,
Of course, the medium-advanced users will look for manual possibilities, even if they will use it rarely (me for example ) . Here is my opinion:

1) Manual focus:
This is not a must especially in a consumer grade camera , and when we need it , it could be difficult to use anyway ( the lack of clarity of the LCD/ eye viewer make it more or less easy to judge the focus by eye :?) . Another thing is if the camera use pushbutton to manually focus, it's a pain as well. A focus ring for manual focus is easier to use
You need it in some cases that autofocus could probably fail : too bright and uniform scene (sand, wall, clear sky, etc, … ) , not enough contrast for autofocus, several nearby object at different distance ( a subject car in the traffic ) etc..
This said, there are also many tricks to overcome those problem as well, there is also spot autofocus (narrow the focusing area) that helps.

2) Manual exposure:
This is a very desirable option to have for the advanced amateur user. You will need it in cases you want control the exposure (night shot, action scene) , nevertheless , you got aperture priority and shutter priority already.
You also need manual exposition in case you use an external flash in "auto" mode , what I frequently use (despite the "auto" appellation , this mean the flash is set to an aperture, and the camera in manual, with the same aperture and the speed you judge for the circumstances)