Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 4, 2004, 7:05 PM   #1

I'm new to digital, thought I'd done my homework. Recently purchasedan S5000 thinking thatI could take continuous clear stop action pictures of my son.:angry:Is this what I need ? Did I make a monumental error? If so tell me, and if not HELP. I'll read the manual again just for good measure. Thanks
abecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 5, 2004, 2:57 AM   #2

Expand your question to explain what you're trying to do. What kind of shots are you trying to take? Are you talking fast action sports shots, or what?
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2004, 3:17 AM   #3

On another thread a guy was asking about advice on aircraft photography and I said how much harder horses were as everything is moving in different directions. Bull riding is the ultimate in rapid action withflailing limbs everywhere!

Your camera should be as good as any in its price range.

I assume this is outdoors in good daylight?

First get as close as you can to minimise the use of zoom. Make sure the sun is behind you.Set your camera to the best quality/resolution. Select the continuous autofocus mode. Select shutter priority mode and a shutter speed of 1/500-1/1000th.

Take a few shots of some guys before your son and see what they look like.

If you keep chopping bits of leg/head off zoom out a bit, you can always crop the images lateron the PC.

Were you trying to use the 5 shot burst mode at all or just single shots? I think your camera can take 40 shots in a burst if you lower the resolution. Might be interesting to check his style but not good enough for a top quality single image.

David
Cybershot455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2004, 10:21 AM   #4

I am trying to takea series ofshots when my son is riding so that we can get somegood still shots. It is very fast moving, I only have8 seconds.