Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 20, 2004, 5:02 PM   #1

Hey all

I recently purchased a 3X phoenix Teleconverter for my 10X Finepix S5000..

Im pleased with the quality of the pictures, however when I use the full optical zoom, some parts of the picture look blurry.. This goes as you reduce the zoom slightly, and the blurriness disappears altogether...

Being a cricket photographer, I really want the most zoom I can get.. I was wondering if anyone knows what causes these issues, and if there is anything I can do to alleviate them?

Many thanks
Langeveldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 20, 2004, 5:56 PM   #2

Any zoom lens exhibits its worst performance at the extreme ends of its zoom range. Put a telextender on it and you are magnifying the problems. The sharpest performance will be in the middle of the zoom range. This applies to all zoom lenses and cameras.
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2004, 6:08 PM   #3

Too much glass in front of the sensor, some of it not perfectly mated to the camera's own lens system, that's the culprit of the blurriness you are experiencing.
marokero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2004, 2:59 AM   #4

There are several good teleconverters on the market...never actually ever heard of the Phoenix one; are you sure it isn't a spotting scope or video lens (lower resolution).

Beyond the camera manufacturer's own brand of lenses, there are a few good party lenses like Raynox...here's the Raynox S5000 page:

http://www.raynox.co.jp/english/digital/s5000/index.htm

You can click on the lenses for sample pictures (with and without the added lens).

Just wondering though, if you're shooting crickets, aren't you doing closeup photography using macro, or are you trying to zoom in at a distance?