Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 14, 2004, 1:33 AM   #1

well....i've been hearing these terms for a while, and haven't figured out wat they actually mean....

wat IS metering? is it the camera reading the lighting, and telling you wat settings to use to expose the scene right? or is it the "-2" that flashes if i have the settings set too dark....

and wat is bracketing? this i don't even have a guess for...lol

i thought i had exposure figured out...maybe i do..but if you could help me with this....i will be able to take (haha...here it comes) "histogrammatically" correct photos (wow...i should take up wordmaking for a living! )

please help me with these really photo-nooby questions....

thanks a ton! help will be GREATLY appreciated....

Vito

(oh man steve....you have a mod that doesn't even know wat bracketing is.... )

photosbyvito is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 14, 2004, 2:36 AM   #2

Vito, on my website you can do a search on Bracketing and see what it is.

http://www.hertz-ladiges.com/modules...ge&pid=431

The -2, you reffers to, could be the exposure compensation/value, which you will find here:

http://www.hertz-ladiges.com/modules...age&pid=97

regards

Klaus

Klaus DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2004, 3:16 AM   #3

One correction, if -2 is flashing (assuming you are using manual exposure modes), that means the scene is darker than what the camera would adjust itself to. When the camera is set on manual mode, the number that's *normally* the exposure compensation number becomes a guide to let you know how far above or below your settings are compared to what the camera is reading the scene at and the settings *it* would choose; in manual modes that number becomes a "digital light meter". In this case it's telling you that you are more than 2 stops below what the camera would set the exposure settings to.