Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 15, 2004, 7:29 PM   #1

i have both cameras at the moment one will be returned and i cant decide which is the better choice i would love to hear some of your opinions

i am a bit of a newb to photographywe take a lot of pics ofour very active2.5 year old and plan take up photography as a bit of a hobby maybe a class or 2
boxer82003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 17, 2004, 7:30 PM   #2

If you let somebody else choose for you, you probably never will be satisfied!

Klaus DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2004, 3:33 PM   #3

boxer82003 wrote:
Quote:
i have both cameras at the moment one will be returned and i cant decide which is the better choice i would love to hear some of your opinions

i am a bit of a newb to photographywe take a lot of pics ofour very active2.5 year old and plan take up photography as a bit of a hobby maybe a class or 2
I hate to preach to you, but the idea I get from your post is that you went out and bought both cameras, knowing ahead of time that you were not going to keep both. In other words, the "tryAFTER I buy" mentality.

The biggest reason many stores have 15% restocking fees, is for this reason. People will buy cameras in order to simply "try them out", then take them back and get more models to try out, before finally making a decision on a purchase. The store cannot sell the item as new legally, so must sell it as an "open box item" for less money. The store loses money, even if they do charge a restock fee, and the buyer of that item runs the risk that the person who brought it back may not have handled it well and it might have damage or missing parts. The trickle down effect is that everyone pays more for the items as the stores lose more over time with so many people doing this.