Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 18, 2004, 1:15 AM   #1

I'm needing to change from a CRT to an LCD monitor and would like to know if any of you have experience with working on images with LCD's and what monitor model do you use? I do want one that is good for digital image editing and 19 " or greater.

:?

Thanks for helping

Paula
raven880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 18, 2004, 7:19 AM   #2

You will get a ton of replies that CRT's are much better than LCD's? I have ued LCD's for years and like most of them. I just follow the same proceedure used long before computers and proof print my copy. The down side of this is that it is not always cheap as the material cost can be higher than the CRT approach.
normc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2004, 9:31 AM   #3

I use a LCD for my photo work and have very good experiences with it. I have a Samsung SyncMaster 171P which is ony 17", but I've heard very good things about their 19" models as well. I also have my monitor hooked up using digital rather than analog and calibrate it frequently.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2004, 4:55 PM   #4

I have a Phillips Brilliance 230W LCD, and although I bought it for CAD it certainly fullfills my needs for photo as well. It is 23" and totally awesome! Best money I ever spent on computer equipment considering how much time I spend in front of it.

I believe the 23" LG and the new 23" Apple monitor are actually the same monitor as this one - tech specs are the same anyway, and there is not that many new 23" screens around.

Praktisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2004, 12:52 AM   #5

Many thanks to you all for your input. I'm going to be shopping for the best deal on these things so it may be a while before I make the dive.
Paula
Old Aug 19, 2004, 11:28 AM   #6

Of course there will be a difference between a "best LCD" and "best deal" in terms of overall quality.