Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 1, 2002, 7:35 PM   #1

Default Need a camera with wide-angle capability...

I am a Real estate agent, and I am looking for a camera in the $250 or less range with a good, wide angle capability, preferably right out of the box, without add-on lenses. I would like something with a 30mm lens or less, and optical zoom of at least 2x. Any info or advice would be appreciated! Feel free to correct any mistakes in "lingo", as well!

Thanks in advance!
jml1911a1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 1, 2002, 8:00 PM   #2

I can offer no help in the lower priced cameras but understand that images uded for Homes magazine ads would not need to be high quality. The question here is what camera offers the widest feld of view straight out of the box. A couple cameras (Nikon 5000 and Minolta 7 series) offer 28mm (35mm camera equivalents) in the $1000 range but most cheaper cameras seem to bottom out around 35mm. Perhaps there is a market for one of the companies to offer a wide angle fixed lens digital for real estate use. Heaven knows there are enough realtors going digital these days.

While I'm suggesting products: Would there be market support for a wide angle lens for D100 and other magnifying factor digital SLRs that would only work on digital cameras? The existing 15mm lenses in Nikon/Canon mount are expensive because they have to cover 24x36 format. It would seem a half frame or movie wide angle glass could be dropped in a mount (focussing not really needed) and do well for digital cameras. I suppose by the time anything like this hit the market, everyone will have moved on to digital SLR's with no factor so the problem will be gone.
dougsmit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2002, 8:11 AM   #3
lg