Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 30, 2004, 4:17 PM   #1

:?just wondering who the dslr users are, and what sort of photos you shoot? are most of you photographers or just for fun?
just i think the prices are quite high and was curious to see what kind of people use dslr cameras.

thanks
JoeB_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 30, 2004, 4:36 PM   #2

I use a Nikon D100 and shoot just about anything BUT people. I like to shoot landscapes, flowers, architecture, abstracts, still lifes, etc. This past weekend, I went to the Oregon State Fair and shot a bunch of night shots of carnival rides in the midway. Some of these are posted in the "Other Photos" forum. I have been doing quite a bit of macro shooting recently, still trying to figure out best how to light macro subjects.

I am not a professional although at this point I probably could be. I am what most would consider advanced amateur. In the past year I have shot over 4000 digital photos. Add to that over 300 rolls of 35mm color negative film and about 50 rolls of color slide film and I have quite a collection of photos.

I have just bought a Hitachi 2gb Microdrive and plan to make good use of it in Hawaii next week.

Cal Rasmussen
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2004, 4:48 PM   #3

What a strange question! Of course professionals use DSLR's and so do amateurs who like REAL photography. You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear, nor can you take excellent photos with a point and shoot camera. Good ones yes, but with technique, experience, knowledge and application an enthusiast will in any profession or hobby go for the best material for the job. Does Tiger Woods buy his clubs at the discount store, or Michael Jordan his trainers at Walmart?