Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Sep 2, 2004, 10:10 PM   #1
SSD

I got my DigitalRebel today and I took it out this evening to photograph a friends son play baseball. What is wrong with the attached pic? Almost all of the pictures came out like this and it was not even dark outside. It was very early evening and cloudy. There should have been enough light for these pics to come out. I need to figure this one out before tomorrow's football game. :?

(I do own the 550EX flash, but I have no idea how to use it, I am a total newbie at this kind of stuff, usually do point and shoot stuff)
Attached Images

SSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 2, 2004, 10:50 PM   #2

My guess is you had the flash mounted but it was turned off. I don't know exactly how the Rebel handles the flash. If it sets up the exposure for flash anytime the flash is mounted, that would probably set the shutter speed to 1/60 or 1/125.

On my Nikon D100, if the flash is mounted but turned off, the camera ignores it. If the flash is turned on, the camera sets up for a flash exposure.

Your shots look like the flash didn't fire. Are you sure the batteries in the flash are good (or even installed)? You should have a battery indicator showing the battery condition. There should also be a red light indicating when the flash is ready to fire. When you first turn on the flash, you should hear a high pitched squealing sound. That is the internal capacitor charging up to the voltage required to fire the flash. If you shoot your picture before that light comes on, the flash won't fire. The capacitor recharges after every flash.

Again, since I am not familiar with the Canon equipment, my suggestions are general in nature.

Cal Rasmussen
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2004, 11:00 PM   #3
SSD

Hi