Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Sep 18, 2004, 1:10 AM   #1

Hi, newbie here. (obviously) My problem is that it seems that everytime I try to take a picture of landscape or anything outdoors for that matter, my camera whites out the sky. For example:

The sky was dark blue when I took this photo, and because the camera made it white, it pretty much ruined the picture. Is this fixable, or is it a "Canon" thing?

Thanks for any help.
Attached Images

shaggybill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 18, 2004, 2:21 AM   #2

sb,

Does this really happen *every* time sky is included over a variety of lighting conditions? Or is it that you've only had the camera a while and by chance your landscapes are all taken in similar circumstances?

Below is an attached image I took on our recent hols with my Sony digicam. Note a similar effect to the sky (it was sunny) and that slight *misty* look to the trees at the top, again like your trees.

I know why mine looks like this, and I suspect yours is fora similar reason....it was taken against the light with the mainsubject (barn/grass) having a far lower amount of light.

Yourcamera metering has pretty correctly exposed the foreground but in doing so was forced to end up with a light sky.

In my case there was so much light from a lightly misted over bright middaysun that it was quite hard to look towards the top of the trees and the sky. In contrast there was no direct sun on the side of the boats you see.

I was actually very pleased my camera ended up with such a good result on Auto.

I don't know about the A80 but when I used an A75 on home trial I found it was slightly worse than the Sony in that it did tend to wash out the highlights in high contrast scenes.

Have you tried exposure compensation or manual mode to get the result you want. The A80 seems a good camera and can produce stunning blue sky scenes in the right circumstances.