Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 7, 2002, 12:03 PM   #1

Default indoor pics with no flash

hi, I recently got my first camera, a fuji finepix 2600 zoom. I like it a lot but have I want to use the manual settings more. I have been trying different flash settings but when I want to take an indoor shot with supressed flash I get the camera shake warning on the lcd unless there is a LOT of light. Its ok with a tripod but is there any settings I could change to make the shot easier to take hand-held and reduce the amount of shake?

Thanks in advance, I'm a total noob to photography
scooby snacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2002, 1:15 PM   #2

I'm not quite sure what you mean by "suppressed flash." Do you mean taking photos without flash or something else. I've also scanned the review of the 2600 and it doesan't appear to have any manual settings. There is a manual EV control which appears to be compensation. That's not manual control in the traditional sense but I'll get to that shortly.

Bottom line is you need to get a certain quantity of light on the film or CCD to make an image. The factors of sensitivity of the CCD, the lens aperture and shutter speed combine with the amount of light available to make a correct exposure. With your camera the shutter speed is the main way of controlling exposure. Since there isn't much light indoors the shutter has to stay open a relatively long time.

A more advanced camera may have an adjustable ISO sensitivity. On my Dimage 7 I can set ISO 800 which makes the CCD eight times as sensitive as at the normal ISO 100 as does your camera, but it comes at the expense of noisy and grainy images. If I was using a DLSR I could use a lens with a much bigger aperture which lets in more light but limits depth of field of focus.