Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Sep 26, 2004, 7:35 AM   #1

I just got my first digital camera (Minolta A1) and I cannot take enough photos. I have done many searches on this subject but I find that most of the reviews are dated. I could not find a good side by side comparison view published in the last year. I have found a lot of software and have not made a decision yet. One review I found is this one"

http://graphicssoft.about.com/cs/imagemanagement/tp/photocatalog.htm

This review is about a year old. I am narrowed down to:

Photo Album 2

Photodex Compupic Pro

Cerious Thumbsplus

Whatdoes everyone here think about these packages?

Thank you,

Anthony

aiannar974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 26, 2004, 8:49 AM   #2

Anthony -

I've been using Adobe Photoshop Album 2 for about 10 or 12 months and am quite satisfied with the product. One of the reasons I got itwas my wife, who is minimally computer proficient,could look atthe pictures on the computer whether she wants to see the sons, grand-daughter, or recent party. The interface is reasonably straightforward and you can sort on any number of options - date, file name, folder, category, etc. It does not however replace the need to organize your photos in a manner you're satisfied with on your computer hard drive. (I keep it simple - "YYMMDD - 'subject'", which allows me easy search and org on the folders)

It has a simple photo editor which has a nice feature with the ability to compare a before and after look at the edited image. You can also burn backup CDs based on the criteria you've entered. If you chose to let the program delete the picture once you've put it on a CD, it will save a thumbnail picture to the index and if you want to see the original, it tells you which disk to dig out.