Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 7, 2004, 4:37 PM   #1

:roll:I have been using my Canon i550 printer for over 2 years for everything including printing pictures. It seems very good to me but few days ago, I bought a low end new printer from Canon - PIXMA ip 1500, the pictures from this printer is amazingly sharper and color is much much better. So it come back to my previous question that MP is just part or myth of making good pictures, apart from the camera, the printer - like the photo lab. also part of producing good pictures? This new tech. for taking pictures is more and more complicated.
jimmy380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2004, 8:33 PM   #2
Administrator

There are many factors that influence image quality: Lens Quality, Sensor Quality, Image Processing Algorithms that influence sharpening, contrast, color, saturation, etc. Camera settings also come into play, as do lighting conditions. Most important of all, is the skill of the photographer.

Now, sometimes a higher resolution model may be better (it could have more advanced image processing algorithms, or a better lens, etc.). Sometimes, it may not be better. But, don't think that megapixels is equal to higher quality. You only need more pixels if you need larger prints. Your newest printerappears to print at 4x6". You don't need more Megapixels for this print size.

You said this in the last thread, aftertrying twonewer models:

jimmy380 wrote:
Quote:
May be there is very little difference from 2mp to 3.2mp, you have to go up to 6mp or higher to notice the difference? What do you think?
Why stop at 6mp?Why nottry printingan image from a 14 megapixel model, and compare it to an image printed from a 2 Megapixel Model?

Full Size Image from Kodak DCS Pro 14N (13.85 Megapixels Total, 13.5 Megapixels Image Size):

http://www.steves-digicams.com/2003_...w/C7SG0256.jpg