Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 14, 2004, 12:59 AM   #1

I've been researching digital cameras for a few months now - looking for a good 10x (or more) zoom, AA batteries, capable of 50 or 64 ISO, at least 4 MP, manual exposure, manual focus - WITH DISTANCE SCALE, fast shutter response... and preferably less than $700.

I know all the cameras that qualify - but none has every feature I want. At this point, there has to be a compromise made. I haven't yet been able to decide what to compromise - and so I still don't have a digital camera. I keep hoping that tomorrow... or next week... someone will add whatever feature is lacking, and introduce it in a new camera, and I'd be set (perhaps Canon's successor to the S1 IS?). I feel time will eventually run out, as the camera companies seem to be gravitating toward the more profitable proprietary batteries in lieu of the cheaper and more practical AAs.

I've been the happy owner of a nice, unique EOS RT for the past 8 years or so, but I must admit that the practicality of digital has me forgetting about film. I've already printed several 'test photos' that I've taken with digital cameras. I've printed at 11x14 and 12x18 sizes, and have been rather impressed - even the 11x14 from the 3.2 MP C-740 was acceptable.

And so, I will be perusing these forums in hopes of gathering more information and knowledge - and even giving some information whenever I can. There is so much to know, so many images to see, and the cameras changing so rapidly that I'm likely in for a long wait still... Thanks to Steve and whomever else is responsible for providing both these forums, as well as the detailed reviews. Much appreciated.

EOS RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 14, 2004, 9:48 AM   #2
Administrator

EOS RT wrote:
Quote: