Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 14, 2004, 1:53 AM   #1
rg7

A small question about making 8x10 prints. I have a 5 megapixel camera. As far as I can tell, this isn't quite enough resolution to print an 8x10 at 300ppi. Which method would yield better results: interpolating the image to equal that necessary, or simply printing the picture at a slightly lower resolution (say, 290 ppi)??? Thanks in advance.
rg7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 14, 2004, 2:49 AM   #2

I am no expert, but I seriously doubt you would be able to tell the difference in 290/300 ppi. 5MP should be more than enough for quality 8X10's. One way to find out is printing them out and seeing for yourself. Good Luck.:G
GoCubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2004, 2:27 PM   #3
Zal

I would encourage you to do the comparison yourself.

I have printed decent 8x10s from photos with 2MP (as a result of cropping a larger image). I did the test--I printed one "as-is", and a second one after up-rezing to 300ppi. I could tell absolutely no difference between the two prints.

Now whenever I want to print, I don't even worry about the ppi. After doing my post-processing, I crop to the desired print ratio and send it. No sweat.

Zal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2004, 3:15 PM   #4

I would bet this is printer dependent. Your printer might not even print at 300 dpi, so sending it the picture at 300dpi might actually cause it to ignore and reduce the data before printing.

Other printers might prefer 300dpi and then it could be printer dependent. I do agree with GoCubs that I bet you won't notice the 10dpi difference.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2004, 4:16 PM   #5

10 dpi difference? Most people couldn't tell the difference between a 5mp print and a 6mp print when printed on 8x10 (assuming the same quality camera and scene).
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2004, 6:07 PM   #6