Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 24, 2004, 11:36 AM   #1

Howdy,

I just got a Fuji A340 as a gift and I'm new to digital cameras, so please bear with me.

I notice in Fuji's manual that they say the xD card will not last forever and will eventually stop working.

When at the local Staples, I noticed that regular picture cards generally had warranties of 5 years and xD cards, from the same manufacturer, only had warranites of 1 year.

Does anyone know the average lifespan of an xD card?

I only got a 16MB card with my camera and I'm trying to decide whether it's worth it to go with a 512/256/128 or stick with something lower like 64/32/16.

Swapping cards is not a huge concern for me but shelling out $100 or so and having the card konk out a year or two later is <:

Any help would be appreciated,

Dallas

D Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 25, 2004, 12:55 AM   #2

I can't answer your question, but if you go to outpost.com you'll find olympus 512mb xd for $79.

i also have a fuji and quite enjoyed thier comment as well.

there will be a 1meg card coming soon, so i would buy as little as you need and wait the falling prices.

Shawn

shawnzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2004, 12:23 PM   #3

D Parker wrote:
Quote:
I notice in Fuji's manual that they say the xD card will not last forever and will eventually stop working.

When at the local Staples, I noticed that regular picture cards generally had warranties of 5 years and xD cards, from the same manufacturer, only had warranites of 1 year.

Does anyone know the average lifespan of an xD card?
What's your personal warranty, how long will you live?

xD cards are just like the other cards, it will last for many years and in most cases something new will come along to replace it long before it dies...it's not like a hard drive with moving parts.