Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Nov 24, 2004, 11:52 AM   #1

I am new to digital photography and wondering about the CCD sensors on digital cameras, I noticed many have 1/1.8 and some have 1/2.5 and do on. Is the bigger 1/2.5 better and why?:O Is it because it is bigger and able to sense more light? Thanks for the input and does it make that big of a differenc? Maggie M.
MaggieM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 24, 2004, 12:01 PM   #2
Administrator

Maggie, you're looking at a type designation, designed to give you an idea of how their sizes compare (it's actually an old system having to do with the diameter of the video tube, and the actual sensor sizes are smaller).

If you do the math for a sensor, you'll get the size (not the actual size though). For example, the 1/1.8" CCD is larger than a 1/2.5" CCD (1 divided by 1.8 = .556"; 1 divided by 2.5 = .4").

As far as sensitivity to light, the size of the photosites make the bigggest difference.So, if you have a 1/2.5" (.4") CCD with 4 Million Pixels, it will have larger photosites for each pixel compared to a 1/2.5" CCD with 5 Million Pixels.

So, in theory, less amplification of the signal will be needed from the CCD with larger photosites, and this should result in lower noise (if everything else is equal with the CCD design between two sensors).

But, advances in CCD design and image processing are being made. So, you really need to examine each model on an individual basis to see how it compares.

Now, the DSLR models are a bit different. Their sensors are MUCH larger than any of the sensors used in the non-DSLR models. So, they can shoot at higher ISO speeds with lower noise. Again, you really need to compare these on a case by case basis, too (but their much larger sensorsare in a different class, compared to the non-DSLR models)
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2004, 1:51 PM   #3

Let me just to reiterate JimC's points...