Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 25, 2002, 8:26 AM   #1

Default Best camera under $1000

I've been searching for years in an attempt to buy the best camera to fit my needs. I've decided to take the plunge. I really like the Olympus E-10, but I've based that conclusion mostly on the way it feels. My thought is that the E-10 would be a better value that the E-20. I'd consider the E-20 if the additional cost would merit.

I'm looking for opinions on all cameras. I work as a webmaster and also use Photoshop and other Adobe software for digital editing.

Things of importance:
1. At least 35mm (wide angle) and would like as much telephoto as I can get without sacrificing image quality and sharpness.
2. I like sturdy cameras. That's why the E-10 appeals to me.
3. Manual focus
4. Ability to capture TIFF (for print)
5. 3 MB or higher. May use for some print, but mostly web.

I'm thinking that purchasing just off the cutting edge will provide the best value. (Please share your opinions on this) Example: Olympus E-10 instead of the E-20.

I've mentioned Olypus but I am not stuck on it. It is the only camera in that range that I know of. I am open and looking for an input.

Thanks for taking the time to read this rather long message.

I appreciate your help.
Danny Ayo
DanAyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 25, 2002, 8:44 AM   #2
NHL

There's always the D7i or D7hi...

The E10/E20N built quality are superb as well as their optical viewfinder are 2nd to none; however like all optical cameras, you'll be penalized by their weight, plus this camera is not known for speed. The D7hi in its 3rd generation, is now greatly enhanced and can keep up with the new EOS-1Ds in term of raw image capture @ full speed (5 raw frames @ 3fps), and not just Tiff.

What separate the D7's apart are that they are extremely light, and the EVF is fully loaded with features that no other camera has yet caught up: