Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 17, 2004, 1:41 PM   #1

I have a olympus 4040 zoom. love it. my cousin wants a digital camera. the 4040s are going for 200-300 or more on ebay and the 3030s are below 100. he is in college so cant afford alot. but the stats for the 3030 look close to the same as my 4040 so i was going to have him get a 3030 on ebay. the only difference i can see is the 3030 is 3mp and the 4040 is 4mp. is there any other big differences? I cant find any that stand out. everything looks the same to me.. but im just a noob so what to i know :?
JMichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 18, 2004, 7:50 AM   #2
Administrator

JMichael wrote:
Quote:
I have a olympus 4040 zoom. love it. my cousin wants a digital camera. the 4040s are going for 200-300 or more on ebay and the 3030s are below 100. he is in college so cant afford alot. but the stats for the 3030 look close to the same as my 4040 so i was going to have him get a 3030 on ebay. the only difference i can see is the 3030 is 3mp and the 4040 is 4mp. is there any other big differences? I cant find any that stand out. everything looks the same to me.. but im just a noob so what to i know :?
The nicest thing about your C-4040z is the lens. It's rated at f/1.8-2.6 (f/1.8 is the largest aperture available at it's wide angle lens setting, and f/2.6 is the largest aperture available at it's full zoom setting).

Most other models, including the C-3030z, don't start out until f/2.8. So, the lens on your C-4040z is more than twice as bright at it's wide angle setting. This allows shutter speeds more thantwice as fast for the same lighting conditions and ISO speeds -- which can help to reduce motion blur in low light. That's one of the reasons it's in high demand on the used market (for users that want to take existing light photos without a flash).