Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 28, 2004, 5:56 PM   #1

Hello all!!!

Does anybody know exactly what is the difference between a professional and amateur photographer?? Does it depends on years of experience? Formal studies? Equipment used? Awards won? or whath else?? :?
msantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2004, 6:02 PM   #2

well, in most things, it's if you make a living doing it...

at least that's what i call a professional..

it could be considered someone REALLY good at it.

Vito
photosbyvito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2004, 6:03 PM   #3

If your main source of income is from photography then doesn't that make you professional?

EDIT: Beaten by vito
Paul(UK) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2004, 6:08 PM   #4

I'm just a newbie so take it for what it's worth...

To me, a pro is one that gets paid (decent amount) to take photographs. Amateurs, on the other hand, either don't get paid or get paid very little. I consider amateurs to be those that do photography as a hobby and are not as serious. Since pros get paid and make a living off photography, their quality and ability is far above the amateurs IMO...

Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2004, 6:34 PM   #5

When somebody decides that he is going to make his living at a particular activity, he isn't going to get anywhere if he doesn't have some basics.

He has to have some aptitude for the job; skill with the tools of the trade and a desire to make money.

He may realize that in order to perform at the level of others in the field, he will need to have equipment that will not let him down and which produce results that people are willing to pay for.