Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

View Poll Results: Do you shoot your photos in RAW, TIFF or JPEG?
I shoot in RAW all the time 4 11.43%
I shoot in RAW except on special occasions 8 22.86%
I shoot in TIFF all the time 0 0%
I shoot in TIFF except on special occations 0 0%
I shoot in JPEG all the time 12 34.29%
I shoot in JPEG except on special occasions 11 31.43%
Voters: 35. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 30, 2004, 10:57 PM   #1
Member
 
TunafishJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 76
Default

[align=center]What file format do you shoot in most often?[/align]
TunafishJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 30, 2004, 11:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 838
Default

I'm not sure if this is supposed to be people with higher end cameras (since mine only shoots in JPEG) but anyway, I shoot in JPEG only (that's the only thing my camera supports).
Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2004, 11:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
rob_strain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fort Knox, Ky.
Posts: 282
Default

I always use raw unless I need high speed shooting and quick buffer refill times. I do a lot of shooting in low light and require the extra latitude raw offers.
rob_strain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2004, 12:00 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
photosbyvito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,710
Default

i shoot jpeg most of the time, because of my previous lack of media...lol, now i'm alright in that sense, so i'll probably shoot RAW

Vito
photosbyvito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2004, 12:30 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 236
Default

New to dSLR so I shoot the highest JPEG - However - RAW when I upgrade my computer so I can us Photoshop CS.
Grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2004, 1:14 AM   #6
Member
 
TunafishJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 76
Default

[align=center]If your camera only shoots in JPEG check JPEG.[/align]
[align=center]And when I say TIFF, I meen an uncompressed TIFF.[/align]
[align=center]I love JPEG cuz it takes a fraction of a second to save, but uncompressed formats are great for fixing them up.[/align]
[align=center]But once you print them you can't tell the difference between High Quality JPEG's and uncompressed formats.[/align]
TunafishJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2004, 2:18 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,396
Default

TIFF? Only my old Point & Shoots had Tiff:-) what a waste of space and time (about 20secs to write a tiff :lol

On the old 5mp P&S a Jpg saved at about 2meg, A RAW at about 6meg and a tiff at 15meg:crazy:.

The new DSLR does not have TIFF as an option. It is RAW or JPG or RAW+JPG are the options. It takes about 1 second to write out a RAW fileand the camera buffers up to 6 RAW's, so write speed is not really an issue.:-D. I figure why waste anything your sensor is giving you, even with RAW I get over 70 images to a 1gb eXtreme card.

The only time(Special Occasion)I'd switch over to JPG only, is if I needed a really long burst at 5fps. And since I don't normally shoot action that is not a likely scenario.

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2004, 3:11 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default

I used to typically use JPEG's all the time, until I saw how much easier it is to clean up an image in post processing with RAW files. Now I tend to shoot exclusively RAW (or RAW + JPEG), but hardly ever JPEG on it's own.
Tim_The_Sandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2004, 12:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Paul(UK)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 290
Default

RAW only on my 20D.

I was unhappy with the results from JPG. Since using RAW only I can get a photo I am happy with. Pity the buffer is only 6 shots in raw rather than the 20+ in JPG
Paul(UK) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2004, 12:55 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 430
Default

RAW, mostly. Else 'fine' JPEG if I'm just dinking around.
jawz is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.