Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 5, 2005, 1:31 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
wrxer12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I have an A70 that has a few problems with it, including a shutter cover that won't shut, defective a/v outputs and a screen that never seals no matter how many times it gets cleaned.

Talking to a rep at Future Shop (Best Buy) this will just get repaired and isn't enough to get a replacement. I really want to get the SD200 as areplacement and can upgrade for only $30. What can I doto make sure the camera cannot be repaired so I can get the new one?


wrxer12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 5, 2005, 1:34 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default

That sounds at best immoral, and at worst illegal, depending on local laws... I have no advice on how to achieve this, in other words... I'm sorry.
Tim_The_Sandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 1:35 AM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You need to accept the fact that you have a lower standard of morals than the normal human being & then get help.
  Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 2:21 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
wrxer12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I know this sounds kinda bad, but does anyone see where I'm coming from?
wrxer12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 1:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Paul(UK)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 290
Default

I see from the photos on this site that the A70 has a DC in.

If your power supply went "faulty" and outputted a higher voltage, that would damage your camera. Possibly beyond economical repair.

What ever happens it's a gamble. I'm not a gambling man. Just my luck I'd end up with a faulty A70 and no replacement.
Paul(UK) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 2:18 PM   #6
Member
 
spark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 87
Default

wrxer12 wrote:
Quote:
I know this sounds kinda bad, but does anyone see where I'm coming from?
I guess I can. I won't make any moral judgments but you have to be careful what you do. If you tinker with the camera making it inoperable and send it in you might end up without a repaired A70 and without an upgraded SD200. Most technicians will know the difference between defects in manufacturing and user induced damage...tread carefully.

The A70's not a bad camera. Get the thing repaired and use it.

Sam
spark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 2:45 PM   #7
sdh
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Default

wrxer12 wrote:
Quote:
I know this sounds kinda bad, but does anyone see where I'm coming from?
I swear I thought I went to a car forum by mistake when I read the subject. WRXer, I know exactly you're coming from. If my spotless rex got banged up Id be happy to have it totalled too. You could try "accidently" dropping the camera ona concrete floor a couple times. Or maybe going at it with a baseball bat or golf club (might wanna use some eye protection.) :G
sdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 2:47 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
RyanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 452
Default

Are you trying to use the warranty included with the camera or did you purchase an extended warranty from the dealer?

I purchased a G3 from Best Buy in May of '03 with the 4 year extended warranty. It began having some problems so I took it to Best Buy in Nov '04 and they replaced it with a new G6 since the G3's are no longer made.

Purposely breaking your camera seems a bit shady to me. But if that is the kind of person you are, then I guess more power to you.
RyanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 5:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
BrierS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 157
Default

When I first read your question, I thought "this must be a joke." Guess not.:shock:
BrierS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 6:06 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bradg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 819
Default

i think the company would frown if they saw this thread...

now, i am not telling you to do this, or even suggesting it, but if you want your camera to work and be repairable, what ever you do, dont drop it in salt water and leave it for several minutes then take it out and put it in the oven to dry it, and forget that your camera was in there.......that would be bad because if the oven didnt do it, the corrosion from the salt would kill it, and if this does by chance happen, make sure you clean your camera, because there is nothing worse than salt water sitting in a camera for a few days.....

signed,
anonymous
bradg is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:29 PM.