Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 20, 2005, 3:42 PM   #1

All,

Just a thought as a newbie... Just looking here and its a great site ( and yes there is this general section ) how ever although you have some software specific areas for suggestions and tips etc I can't see a general one for the use of the cameras ( except for specific models ).

What I mean is for questions like... what is the best settings and way to use your camera for 'this' situation. Others could even create how to's before the question is asked.

You could have each title like this.... Camera - Situation - Effect - FAQ or questtion ie... "Z55 Night time- long exposure - FAQ".

Comments ( Tell me to shut up as well cos I am a newbie and might not know what I am talking about here )

Terran
ccsnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 20, 2005, 8:46 PM   #2

There was talk about doing this a few months ago with doing a studio "how to" section. The thought was people would post photos using their studio lights and would explain how the lights were set up, and what the camera settings were.

It was working pretty well for a few days, but fizzled out.
RyanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2005, 3:15 AM   #3

While I still try to post what my settings were on certain images, it never really seemed to catch on with the general population here (maybe it came across as being arrogant or something).

As for you particular question...it's next to impossible to come up with a specific FAQ for every possible camera & shooting situation. Your best bet is to post your question in the forum for your camera model & hope that someone has already delt with that issue before.
Old Jan 24, 2005, 11:15 AM   #4

Terran - This idea pops up every once in a while, which means there is some value to it,as a general concept.

The problem quickly becomes one of great complexity for a lot of reasons.

Hundreds of camera/lens combinations