Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 21, 2005, 2:47 PM   #1

Hi, I'm kind of new to digital photography and wondering why would I shoot in just RAW?

This is because iPhoto 05 is just about to be released and supports RAW so as I use this app to preview / store images I was wondering if I should now shoot in RAW?

Some URL's would be very helpful, thanks
grant.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 21, 2005, 3:45 PM   #2

I am by no means an expert, but here are some high level advantages to RAW:
  • In a nutshell a RAW image is like a digital negative - you take away all the camera's enhancements to the image[/*]
  • Can Adjust White Balance when processing the RAW image[/*]
  • Can adjust exposure compensation[/*]
  • Can adjust tone curves, brightness, contrast etc - most DSLRs have this ability as well but some feel the computer algorithms are better than the in-camera algorithms.
[/*]
Those are the quick highlights I could think of. The downside is it is an extra step in your processing workflow and the image files are almost twice as big so you will only be able to store 1/2 the images on a CF card vs. shooting JPEG.

Some people prefer to always have this ultimate level of control. I personally shoot JPEG 80% of the time and shoot RAW for photos where I believe White Balance or Exposure will be tricky. Otherwise I'm just not advanced enough to want to play with all the tone curves, color and brightness parameters in RAW. That's my two cents, for what it's worth
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2005, 4:22 PM   #3

JohnG covered the big ones. I wanted to add/emphase a few.