Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 25, 2005, 10:39 AM   #1

What are the criteria to estimate the likelihood of a camera having its firmware updated to be able to shoot in RAW?

I am thinking of buying the Canon Powershot A75 which presently only shoots JPEGS.

Thank-you
manualfocus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 25, 2005, 1:07 PM   #2

Well, while I'm waiting to hopefully receive replies to my original question, I'll put my question in a bit larger context.

First off, I must emphasize that I am a newbie, but a passionate enthusiast at that. I've never shot with an SLR. I've spent close to a year shooting the hell out of my Olympus Camedia D540, which has served me well, but whose lack of manual control is extremely frustrating now.

As luck would have it, the D540 had a hardware problem, and I am able to return it where I bought it. I'm thinking of updating to a Canon Powershot A75. It sounds fine for my needs, but I wish that it shot in RAW. Hence my question about the possible firmware update.

To complicate matters further, I've become aware of the discount on the Nikon Coolpix 5400. One hundred dollars separates them in price.

But it sounds like the Nikon has a bit of trouble in low/ambient light, where the Canon doesn't. I like shooting without a flash.

This is outweighed perhaps, by the fact that the Nikon can shoot in RAW.

If the Canon might be updated at some point to shoot in RAW, I'd forego the Nikon's other advantages and bite the bullet with the Canon.

But for now, I'm stumped. :?:

Any help would be much appreciated.
Old Jan 25, 2005, 2:49 PM   #3