Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 1, 2005, 4:50 AM   #1

hi everyone,
im a photographer that currently uses a fuji s2 as my digital solution, when clients dont require digital i have 35mm, 645, 67, 5x4 & 10x8 to choose from. my problem is that i shoot tethered to the computer in the studio so the image can be seen, but the firewire connection has become unstable recently. my question is should i go for a digital mf back or buy another slr of some sort? is there a enough difference in quality and future proofness (?) to warrant the extra cost. any opinions and advice greatly appreciated. regards andy
andybuk99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 1, 2005, 9:10 AM   #2

You are asking a very expensive question, we need a lot more information.

The first, is can you really afford it? Digital MF backs are very, expensive (last I checked.) Maybe you should be considering a really good film scanner instead. Yes, you'll still have the hassle of developing the film but it would be a much cheaper solution that would sill produce good results. Yes, you don't get the immedate feedback, and if that is required then this solution isn't workable. But I thought I should mention it. (Of course a quick check shows a drum scanner is $5K or $10K, so that isn't really "cheap" just cheaper. But a Nikon CoolScan 9000 is $2K and that is a really good scanner and can do MF.)

How large a print do you make with them. I've generally heard that the Canon 1Ds MkII compares very favorably with scanned MF. I don't know about digital MF. But it would mean a new system as it uses Canon lenses, not Nikon like the S2.

I gotta get to work, but that leaves you with something to think about.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2005, 9:24 AM   #3

unstable in what way? what is your hardware setup?

can/does you business support the use of the back?

sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2005, 12:09 PM   #4