Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 16, 2005, 10:51 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,396
Default

I've got an old Yashicamat 124G TLR that I still like to use on occasion :!:

No batteries, just wind and fire away. They are fun to fool around with. and the 2-1/4 square negatives do scan into some monster sized files.

Peter.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 11:05 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 394
Default

Great to hear that it really works. I have just ordered the same camera on e-bay after looking for a really nice one I think it will be fun. Thanks
normc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 11:35 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
cameranserai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 548
Default

All I can find is that there is one for sale in the USA at $64. It isn't mentioned much on the internet but is a 6cmX6cm TLR camera, and you'll see what I have at:-

http://www.adorama.com/US%20%20%20%20125614.html



Best I can do
cameranserai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 11:47 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
cameranserai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 548
Default

Now is this the same thing I ask myself? Apparently "START" is written "CTAPT" in russian, so I found this but that is about a 35mm. Might be the same make though, and would be curious if it wasn't.

http://www.fedka.com/catalog/product...c8beb10f0dd50e
cameranserai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 12:33 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 394
Default

I should mention that almost any working twin lens reflex camera will do. We used some Richoflex cameras (not sure of the spelling) that were sold in the Army PX back in the 1950's. We did not have light meters and would simply guess at the settings. The 120 B&W film was very forgiving even for indoor available light photograhy and most of the time we got fair to good results. If a person were to scan and edit these basiclly to get rid of the noise and increase contrast they could print up well.
normc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 5:05 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
BillDrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hay River Township, WI
Posts: 2,512
Default

You can use your digicam as a light meter if you can match the ISO or remember to do the adjustment for any difference.

Those cameras show the popularity of the perptentual search for more resolution - and the answer is that 35mm is good enough for most uses. The twin lens reflexes have much better resolution than 35mm, but are not as convinient to use and don't have the bells & whistles of 35mm. My impression is that for the same quality, they are about the same price as 35mm.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:58 AM.