Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 17, 2005, 3:23 AM   #1

Hi,

I am very new to photography..it might be a stupid question but has been bugging me for long.

ZOOM !

I have seen pretty much all compact and ultra compact cameras with 3x zoom. But a few exist with 4x and 5x zoom.
How much better is 4x or 5x zoom compared to 3x. What are the advantages.

In my thinking, a landscape photo cant gain much by 4x or 5x...maybe super zoom like 10x is one which makes a difference. For indoor, 3x should be sufficient.

Then were is 4x zoom advantageous?

Thanks,
Kaz.
kazaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 17, 2005, 9:56 AM   #2

Hi,

for landscape and indoors photography, a high-zoom camera probably wouldn't help much, as you're normally trying to get a wider field of view, so you're trying to get more wide angle.

Also, 3x zoom or 4x zoom is rather inaccurate. You should be concerned with their 35mm equivalent range, for example 38-114mm or 34-136mm. The first number denotes the wide end of the zoom, (all else equal) you want it to be low, so you can fit more into a picture, especially indoors as you have less room (or possibly for landscapes also). The second number denotes the telephoto end of the zoom, and it tells you how close you can get to something far away. For example, if you go to the zoo to take pictures of animals or to a concert where you're far away from the stage, to get closer to the animals or performers, you need a big tele.

It really depends on what sort of pictures you're looking to take. If it's mostly landscapes and indoors pictures of people, you should be more concerned with the wide angle end of the zoom, and not worry too much about tele.
thebac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2005, 11:24 AM   #3

kazaan wrote:
Quote:
ZOOM !
zoom..zoom...zoom

Quote:
I have seen pretty much all compact and ultra compact cameras with 3x zoom. But a few exist with 4x and 5x zoom.