Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 24, 2005, 6:53 PM   #1

Hi. I was wondering about printing options. I have a new D70 nikon SLR and I take wedding photos and other artistic photos for resale and I need to know where I can get the best digital prints on-line or otherwise . Quality in large prints is a must. I would love to find a on-line lab. I am new to the digital world. I am a old school medium format and 35 mm kind of girl and I need all the help I can get with digital printing because I am use to using my own darkroom and I know digital will never be that great but it is much easier for weddings and such.

So I am all ears..........

thanks
Ella is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 24, 2005, 7:41 PM   #2

Ella wrote:
Quote:
...I know digital will never be that great.....
ouch... talk like that won't make many friends around here!

Ok... just teasing you... :lol:

I've never tried them but I see www.printroom mentioned a lot..

Mr_Saginaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2005, 10:44 PM   #3

I was going to say. DSLRs like the D70 might not compare to medium format, but it does very well against 35mm. It certainly can be "great" at times.

Believe it or not Walmart and Costco can produce very good large prints at cheap prices. But their results can be inconsistant, both in the paper used and the color correction.

Plus, Walmart seems to have instituted a policy where prints that have copyrights notices on them will not be printed (proably a lawyer on retainer trying to protecting them from a suit over reproducing copyrighted work.)

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2005, 10:27 AM   #4

Printing Options:

(1) On-line processing service like Winkflash, Snapfish, Ofoto, or Smugmug. One review here:

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...ight=winkflash