Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 11, 2005, 8:11 PM   #1

This might be a dumb question, but there's a particular outlook i'd like to get some shots from and it happens to be -right- next to an active radio tower. There's a warning sign by the tower saying something to the effect of 'Exceeds maximum output levels safe for general population'. I was curious if anyone knew if there would be any harmful signals that would possibly effect anything in the camera/memory. I'm using a Panasonic FZ-20 with a Kodak SD card. I've taken my cellphone up there with no ill effect, and seen trucks drive up there, so I wouldn't -think- that it would be an issue. But, better safe then sorry?
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2005, 8:19 PM   #2

Your camera will be fine.

You however may not. I am a Microwave Radio technician, and depending on the power of that antenna, it can be lethal to you. If you venture up there and start feeling sick or warmer than before, leave, immediately. Those are the first signs of RF radiation poisoning.
rob_strain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 8:48 PM   #3

Thanks alot, Rob, i'll definately be careful. I've been up to this particular tower and know of other people who have gone up too, so far with no ill effect, but i'm also not willing to get up next to the antenna since I saw those signs.
Requiem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 8:49 PM   #4

rob_strain wrote:
Quote:
I am a Microwave Radio technician,
Handy to have one of these as a member.

But looking at Requiem's avatar............................do you think it's too late ?
Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2005, 11:15 PM   #5

I don't know, I cant make out what his avatar is.
rob_strain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2005, 12:54 AM   #6