Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 1, 2002, 9:48 PM   #1

Default Which digital camera?

I am looking at 4 models, the Minolta F100, Fuji F601, Olympus c-720UZ and Canon S30. My research tells me that most of these are decent digital cameras. I am a casual photographer and will be using my camera for vacation photos, family photos, etc., but I want something that will produce excellent quality images. Does anyone have some helpful input on these cameras. I have checked out most of the review sites.

THANKS
Troy Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 2, 2002, 7:12 AM   #2

For me it will boil down to the size of the camera (is it pocketable), batteries and zoom capability. The 720 is quite large compared to the Fuji but has 8x zoom. The Oly uses AA batteries which are cheap to buy (NiMH rechargeables that is).

All will deliver good photos. Personally I'd go for the 720 unless I wanted pocket size.
steve6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2002, 7:33 AM   #3

I would vote for the Olympus C720. My wife has one for her work and it takes great pics.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2002, 9:12 AM   #4

I'd bet on all of them taking good pictures - any that don't would have been pulled off the market.

So the issue comes down to what do *you* want in a camera. As steve6 noted, some folks want a camera that fits easily in their pocket.

Since you mentioned family pictures, you might be interested in good flash which means the ability to use an external flash. The built-in flash in all cameras (digital or chemical) are junk. Some are worse than others, but all are small and close to the lens so you will get red-eye and hot-spots. You can expect that the cameras that fit in your pocket to be the worst for flash since they are smallest.