Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 3, 2002, 7:41 AM   #1

Default How many megapixels do I need?

I really like the Canon G-3. I'm a little (maybe too much) hung up on the 4 vs 5 megapixel specification. There are several 5MP cameras in the same price range. I'm new to digital, but a long time photographer with a Canon EOS film system. I always have tried to use the finest grain films for the situation I am photographing. I use my slides frequently projected very large in lecture halls and auditoriums. I also enlarge and mount some of my better photos.

1. What is the theoretical size limit for an enlargement (print) of a 4MP camera 8x10, 11x14?

2. How much difference will there be on a projected image from a 4MP vs. 5MP camera in an auditorium where the images are typically 30 feet or even larger. Certainly the resolution of the projector and size of file will enter into the quality of the projected image as well.

If anyone could help me understand this better I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

Frank
Frank Chang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 3, 2002, 9:17 AM   #2

The max print size from a specified MPixel size depends on issues like how well the camera is in focus, amount of detail in the subject, amount of sharpening, viewing distance, phase of the moon, ... and most importantly - the eye of the beholder.

All else equal (it never is), the maximum output size increases as the square root of the megapixel ratio, e.g., a 5 MP camera can produce a print 11.8% larger in linear dimension than a 4 MP camera. Nice to have, but not likely to the the crucial deciding factor between two cameras. The 5MP camera is likely to be better than a 4 MP because it is likely to be a newer and improved design - not simply because of the increased pixels.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2002, 10:52 AM   #3