Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 21, 2005, 9:34 AM   #1

Hi, I am reading all the time that people set a custom white balance before shooting a important shot.

I am relatively new to Digital and I am discovering new techniques all the time, however I read my manual and shot a couple of frames,

Canon 20D; SS, 1/20 sec; EP, Normal Program; F/5.6; ISO, 200; FL, 55.0m; Auto White Balance; Meter Mode, Pattern.

Canon 20D; SS, 1/20 sec; EP, Normal Program; F/5.6; ISO, 200; FL, 55.0m; Custom White Balance; Meter Mode, Pattern.

I do not know about you, but I can not see much difference? So when is the optimum time to shot with Custom White Balance. Would it make a difference with flash? I was kind of expecting the background to be, well white!

Any hits or tips will be grateful received.

Thanks

Grant
grant.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 21, 2005, 10:53 AM   #2

Custom white balance is not often needed, but it can be helpful.

This is how I would think its used, but the way I shoot I can't use it.

If you have different light sources, each with their own color cast, then a custom white balance is often helpful to let you correct for them. Take a picture of something white under that lighting and then use that to set the balance... and it will correct for the color cast.

But it is only useful if the lighting will be constant through the entire shoot. Since I shoot outdoors I can't use it.

If you are using a flash, then the camera already has a white balance that can bet set for that.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2005, 1:27 PM   #3