Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 10, 2005, 8:12 PM   #1

I have been working with computers for many years. In the late 1980s I was using a 35mm camera, working at the computer center at a large University, and hoping that someday I could use computers to edit and print my photographs.

I have closely followed the development of digital photography and now I own a scanner, printer, and camera. I'm very happy with what I can do with my computer tools.

I'm generally happy with the way things are going in the digital photography field but this whole RAW file format thing is not pleasing to me. I think there is a major problem with RAW that is being ignored by the photographic community. The reason for this ignorance is mostly because the field of digital photography is so new. Both photographers and manufacturers are learning by trial and error. Right now the manufacturers have made an error that photographers need to correct.

The flaw in RAW is that your camera manufacturer owns your RAW images, not you the photographer. You cannot view or manipulate your images without permission from the manufacturer. This is not true with JPEG or TIFF files. The format of those files are freely available. If you want to view your TIFF or JPEG files on an cell phone or a computer wristwatch or some unusual computer or whatever, you can get the file format info and write your own program to view the images.

By contrast the manufacturers are keeping their RAW file format information secret. You cannot find out the file format information if the manufacturer does not want to give it to you. This is not right. As long as the RAW file format is proprietary a photographer does not own their RAW images!