Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 9, 2005, 1:25 AM   #1

I need some opinions... I'm looking to replace a stolen camera. I've done my research, and have narrowed my options down, but I'm now stuck on a big question -- what's more important, camera size or optical zoom? I'm new in the digital world, and am debating pros and cons of a camera that I can toss in my pocket and go anywhere, or one that's going to be a little more cumbersome but can get me closer to my shot. Thoughts?

Thanks for the responses! I'm a traveller and I really appreciate being able to zoom into my subjects to get the 'perfect shot,' but I backpack, so size is important. At this point, I'm not doing too much action stuff, but the everyday point and shoot credit card camera would be handy.... Ahhhh! Help!
tappingcathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2005, 3:54 AM   #2

It's hard to answer without knowing more about what kind of pictures you plan to take. I like the super zooms since I take a lot of sports shots, some from large stadiums' bleacher seats.

That said, the Olympus c-765 is pretty compact, has a 10X optical zoom, and takes decent pidtures although without image stabilization.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2005, 9:00 PM   #3

robbo wrote:
Quote:
It's hard to answer without knowing more about what kind of pictures you plan to take. I like the super zooms since I take a lot of sports shots, some from large stadiums' bleacher seats.

That said, the Olympus c-765 is pretty compact, has a 10X optical zoom, and takes decent pidtures although without image stabilization.