Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 31, 2002, 2:07 PM   #1

Default Pixels / Resolutions / Images

Hey everyone. I'm new to this forum and in fact new to digital photography.

I work in a marketing department designing printed sales and support literature. So my background is definitely in the "printed" world. I primarly use CorelDraw, Corel PhotoPaint and Fireworks.

This whole "digital" concept is confusing me.

I'm trying to make the manuipulation / printing of my photos as fast as possible. (I'm figuring if I spend hours on the computer messing with my pictures, I could have taken a roll of film in for processing much easier.

My background tells me all printed pictures need to at 300 dpi resolution. So do I need to resample every digital picture?
I was told NOT to resample as I would lose quality. I was told just to resize my photo to fit my media, 5x7, 8x10, etc. They also told me as I resized, my resolution would increase.

Unfortunately, when I reduce, indeed my photo gets smaller but I never actually see the resolution increase. It seems to stay at 72 no matter what I do, unless I resample.

Please help this old girl understand this whole process. Thanks for any hints you can give me.
CindyN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 31, 2002, 2:34 PM   #2

Have you tried shooting digipics, quick look to chuck out really bad ones (get those better next time!), DON'T edit, just upload to an online service or take your card into Walmart?

Remember that they may need to crop for a 6X4 print and their choice (eg top down/bottom up) might not be yours (centre, balanced), so that is probably the only thing you might need to do beforehand. You could ask or try a couple of test prints to see which way they go. Their machines will take care of the sizing.

This might not sound much fun, but that comes later on with the 'specials' The commercial printers are 300dpi but on real photographic paper.